What can I say?  2011 has been a year that will go down in history and I have so many things to be thankful for.  My marriage is better than ever and my children are healthy and happy.  God has truly been good to me and that’s not just a cliché!  Being that we are so far away from our families we usually go home every Thanksgiving but this year we have decided to stay home.  Well I think I kind of decided for everybody.  This last month has been constant ripping and running, long hours at work and non stop activities with the kids.  All I want to do is rest and relax since I have the whole week off with the kids.  Yes, that’s one of the perks of working in the school system.  That 10 hour drive looks less and less attractive to me as the years go by, maybe I’m getting old.  Ha!  Needless to say, everyone is not happy with this decision and with good reason, but it’s been made and I’m sticking to it!

In order to bring some joy to the faces of my children I decided to involve them in the menu!  Oh boy, what a mistake, being that I’m the one that will do all the cooking.  Now cooking is something I love to do and I’m extremely good at it *toot toot* so it’s no big deal but when you see the list of goodies for a family of five will be shocking.  Not to mention, I don’t know how to cook small amounts!  We do have tentative plans to have guest for dinner if they don’t go out-of-town.  Either way, I’m good.  All I plan on doing Thanksgiving Day is being with my family, eating, drinking and FOOTBALL…sounds like a plan to me.  So we are sitting around the dinner table and I’m looking at 4 long faces (hubby included) so I said, “let’s get our Thanksgiving Dinner menu together” and the madness began!  LOL  Everybody wanted their favorites and OMG it seems as if no two people wanted the same thing but when you look at it, it is the traditional Thanksgiving Meal!  So here it goes:

  • Turkey
  • Roast
  • Cornbread Dressing
  • Green Bean & Shrimp Casserole
  • Baked Mac & Cheese
  • Rice Dressing (Dirty Rice)
  • Collard Greens
  • Yams
  • Pecan Pie
  • Dump Cake
  • Chocolate Cake
  • Ice cream and cookies
  • Fresh Squeezed Lemonade
  • Sodas
  • Iced Tea

I think I gained 10 pounds just typing all that food.  LOL  I am so ready to eat I wish I could start now.  Cooking for my family always brings me joy so I’m ready to make those pots sing.  I know I’ll be homesick in a day or two along with the rest of my family but I’ll manage.  So what are you doing for Thanksgiving and what’s on your menu?

