This was one of my favorite weekends of the year!  The Saints and Falcons game in Atlanta 11/13/2011 @ 1pm.  We got our tickets at the 9th hour and OMG they were really good seats….35 yard line.  Luckily I met a homegirl a couple of weeks ago with two extra tickets for sale.  The atmosphere was just right for a great game of one of the biggest rivals in the NFL.  We arrived in Atlanta Saturday night and stayed with some friends from Louisiana who welcomed us with black-eyed peas, turkey necks, gumbo, beef stew and spaghetti.  Now, you would have to be a native of Louisiana to appreciate that combo!  We washed it all down with some delicious homemade wines and lots of old stories and plenty of laughter.  Around 2 a.m. we all decided we couldn’t go any longer and hit the sack to get a little rest for tailgating and the game. 

Tailgating at 8 in the morning, well not for all of us.  I had to get my beauty rest (lol) and rolled out of bed around 9am.  Showered and put on my gear for the game.  Once we finally made it out there the crowd was amazing.  There was so much black and gold at the Georgia Dome and surrounding areas it was crazy.  I felt like I was home in Louisiana amongst family.  Once we parked and made our way to the tent it was on and popping with a D.J.  Shrimp the size of your hand, crab legs as long as your arm (mild exaggerations) , potatoes and corn, bbq chicken and drinks galore.  The music was pumping and the crowd was wild.  Saints fans were passing by shouting out Who Dat, dancing and celebrating like one big happy family. 

Ten minutes to 1pm we make our way to the Dome and OMG it’s on!  The tension was in the air but in a good way.  Black and gold, red and black everywhere.  Unfortunately I missed the kickoff for reasons I chose not to mention but a girl had to do what a girl had to do.  My buddy Graham had me a little upset missing three catchable passes but he made up for it with a touchdown and when he slammed dunked the goal post!  Sproles is the man.  Seeing this dude run on tv is nothing compared to seeing him run in person, just amazing.  No one’s leggs should be able to move that fast.  I’m so glad he’s part of the team.  I was so happy with Drew Brees and the offensive line.  They kept Drew so clean he could have played in a tuxedo.  In my opinion, his plays were well thought out and precise and the entire team executed perfectly.  This was a very good game. 

 As usual we were surrounded by Falcon fans so let the trash talking begin.  My husband once again, yelled, screamed and talked so much junk he nearly lost his voice.  I had to remind him that we needed to make it back to the car.  LOL Luckily we were amongst fans that wanted to have fun as much as we did.  It was all in fun but near the end of the game it started to get a little quiet!  All of a sudden the dude in front of us started throwing his Falcons hat on the floor and stomping on it, saying how stupid they were and how much he hated them.  We were cracking ourselves up at this fool.  I don’t know if he was just not a die-hard fan or if he had one too many but that ish was funny.  He conveniently decided to use the restroom once we were in OT and never returned.  Oh the shame! 

I must admit, I got a little nervous myself because the game was so close it could have gone either way…well the way I didn’t want it to go of course.  There were a few bad calls throughout the game on both sides but one that will go down in history…when the Falcons went for a 1st down on 4th and 1 on New Orlean’s 20!  Big mistake!  The New Orleans Saints got the ball back, Drew ran a couple of plays to seal the deal and Kasay sent the football sailing into the air landing a field goal!  Game!  This win put us at #1 in the NFC South.  There was dancing, singing, shouting, laughter and cheers.  I love football and I love the Saints.  I don’t get mad or testy with others when they lose a game.  Remember people…it’s just a game and it’s meant to be fun.   Who Dat Baby, for life!

