I have been in deep thought about our next move.  I’m so ready to leave Georgia it’s ridiculous.  We have been here for nearly 9 years and truth be told, I’ve never really made this place home.  We bought a house, a dog, belong to a great church, both have good jobs, kids doing well in school, and have some great friends but there still seems to be something missing.  I figured we would have been gone at least 5 years ago.  We came here via the military in 2003 and were living civilian life by 2005.  I thought it would take a year or two after that to get the house sold and tie up a few loose ends, secure jobs and we would be out!  Well that was our plan but it didn’t quite work that way. 

Since we got married in 1995, we stayed in Louisiana for 6 months and then moved to North Carolina for about a year and a half.  Then hubby went active duty in the ARMY and we moved to Kentucky, then Tennessee and now Georgia.  I’m used to moving about every 4-5 years.  This is the longest we’ve ever been in one place.  I can’t say it’s been all bad but I can say I’ve had my share of challenges here.  My kids are ready to leave as well.  They hate being this far away from family and so do I.  It’s a 10 hour drive to Louisiana and I don’t know if I’m getting old or what but I can’t take those drives much longer. 

Now the fun part!  Where do we want to live now?  Texas is really pulling on me, Houston to be exact.  I feel it’s a great location in reference to both our families in Louisiana.  We have dozens of friends in Houston and surrounding areas.  We both feel like this may be the move for us.  The kids would much rather be in Louisiana but the job market is not the best in my husband’s field.  Texas is close enough.  So when will this move take place?  That’s a good question.  If I had my way, I would be gone tomorrow.  However, I do know that we have some important things to consider and do first.  We need to find jobs, let the kids finish out this school year and sell the house.  I’m really not ready for all the packing but I do feel like this is going to be a great move for us…a new chapter in our book.  We shall see!  🙂

