Being born and raised in the south, you were taught at a very young age to speak to people whether you know the person or not.  If a person passed you on the street, you spoke.   If you pass someone on the same aisle in the grocery store, you spoke.  If you are sitting on your porch and someone drove by you waved your hand to acknowledge them.  If you enter a room, you should speak.  It can even be as simple as making eye contact from across the room. This scenario can go on and on and on.  In my case, I’ve been told that I speak too much.  I’ve heard, “dang girl, you just spoke” or “I just saw you an hour ago.”  I can’t help it, it’s in my nature. 

Let’s take work for instance, if I see a co-worker first thing in the morning I say good morning or hello.  An hour later I may see that same co-worker in the hall, I’ll say hello.  We may run into each other at lunch, I’ll say hello again.  That’s three hellos in a matter of a couple of hours.  I find it very hard not to speak when I come in contact with someone.  In my opinion it’s just downright rude to pass someone and not speak to them.   

I have been on the receiving end of this and I hate it when people don’t speak.  I mean, is it really going to kill you to say hello, hi, hey, good morning, good afternoon, what’s up, etc?  A nod or smile will suit me just fine.  If you enter a room, you should speak.  Nothing infuriates me more than to be in a room and another person walks in, looks me in the face and don’t speak.  I have also walked in a room and spoke and you could hear a mouse pee on cotton.  Now that really chops my hide.  The word “hello” literally takes about one second to say, maybe less. 

I can be in the grocery store and see someone I don’t know and have a casual conversation for about 2 minutes just from saying hello.  We could be talking about the tuna on the shelf, the weather or much of nothing…small talk. I don’t think it’s asking too much to show a little courtesy.  I promise it won’t cost you a dime.  You have no idea whose day you could make; it can even make your day!  What do you think?

